Disclosure: this site is an affiliate of the TEFL Institute of Ireland (tefl.ie). If you buy through our links to that provider we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. We do not have links to the other providers named below, and the criteria on this page apply equally to all of them, including tefl.ie.
The short answer: no single provider is best for everyone. For most Irish learners the sensible comparison is between three things: how many hours of tutor-guided study you get, which body actually awards and regulates the certificate, and whether any assessed teaching practice with real learners is included. Price comes after those. The facts below were read from each provider's own pages in October 2026, and they change often, so treat them as a starting point for your own check.
The five criteria that matter
- Hours, and what they are made of. Guided learning hours with a tutor are different from total study time. See the 120, 180 and 250 hour comparison.
- Awarding body and regulation. Who issues the certificate, and is that qualification on a regulator's register? See accreditation explained.
- Assessment. Are there marked assignments, an exam, or only quizzes? A guaranteed pass tells you nothing about standards.
- Tutor support. A named tutor who gives written feedback, or a helpdesk.
- Price and terms. Sale price, full price, payment plans, refund rights and whether certificate fees are extra.
What three Irish-facing providers publish
The table summarises what each provider's own Ireland page said when we read it on 19 October 2026. Where a cell says 'not stated', the page did not give the information, which is itself something to ask about before paying. Prices shown are the current promotional prices; each page also shows a much higher 'original' price, so a discount of 60 to 70 per cent is the normal state, not a limited offer.
| Provider and course | Hours | Regulation as stated on its page | Teaching practice | Price shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TEFL Institute of Ireland, 120-Hour Advanced International Standard | 120 | Called 'accredited'; awarding body not named on the homepage | Not included (separate 10-hour practicum listed) | €175 |
| TEFL Institute of Ireland, 180-Hour Level 5 TEFL Diploma | 180 | Ofqual regulated Level 5; Highfield named as awarding organisation | Not included (separate 10-hour practicum listed) | €265 |
| TEFL Institute of Ireland, 300-Hour Advanced Level 5 Diploma | 300 | Ofqual regulated, Level 5 | Not included (separate 10-hour practicum listed) | €375 |
| The TEFL Academy, Online TEFL Level 3 | 120 | Qualifi and Ofqual regulated | No | €165 |
| The TEFL Academy, Online TEFL Level 5 Diploma | 168 | Qualifi and Ofqual regulated | No | €265 |
| The TEFL Academy, Combined Level 5 | 168 plus 10 classroom hours | Qualifi and Ofqual regulated | 10 hours in Dublin or Galway | €365 |
| The TEFL Org, 250-hour Level 5 Diploma | 250 | Page says 'DEAC regulated' | Not stated | Priced in pounds sterling only |
| The TEFL Org, 270 and 280-hour Level 5 Diplomas | 270 (20 classroom) or 280 (30 classroom) | Page says Ofqual regulated; awarding body not named per course | Classroom hours included, but the page's comparison table is inconsistent about assessed practice | Priced in pounds sterling only |
A few things stand out. First, the tefl.ie homepage lists a 10-hour teaching practicum as a separate course rather than part of the main diplomas. Second, only the TEFL Academy's combined course states where in-person practice takes place (Dublin or Galway). Third, none of the three pages we read gave a clear description of how the written work is assessed. That is the single most useful question to email a provider before you pay.
Where CELTA and CertTESOL fit
Cambridge's CELTA is a 120-hour qualification regulated by Ofqual at Level 5, with assessed teaching practice. Trinity's CertTESOL is also Ofqual regulated at Level 5. Both are delivered only through approved centres, so there is no cheap, fully self-paced version. The tefl.ie CELTA comparison page quotes typical CELTA fees of roughly €1,300 to €2,065 depending on centre and format. That figure comes from a competitor's marketing page, so confirm current fees with the centres themselves. For the full comparison with generic certificates, read TEFL vs CELTA.
Several providers describe their Level 5 diploma as equivalent to CELTA or CertTESOL. Those are the providers' own statements. Equivalence in level is not equivalence in assessment: CELTA includes observed teaching with real learners, and many online diplomas do not. If your target employer asks for CELTA by name, an 'equivalent' may not be accepted.
Reading the regulation claims
'Ofqual regulated' is a meaningful phrase only when you can find the specific qualification on the Ofqual register. GOV.UK says the register covers England and Northern Ireland, and that Wales and Scotland have their own services. Check the qualification title, the awarding organisation and its status, not the provider's logo wall. A provider can be an approved centre of a regulated awarding body while some of its other courses, such as a shorter 'standard' certificate, have no named awarding body at all. That is the pattern on several of the pages above, so match the exact course you are buying to the exact register entry.
Labels such as DEAC or AQC appear on some pages. We have not independently verified what those schemes check or whether they are recognised by Irish employers, so ask the provider to explain them, and ask the employers you want to work for.
Questions to email every provider
Whichever provider you favour, send the same short email to each and compare the replies side by side. Ask for the awarding organisation and qualification number for the exact course you are buying. Ask how many of the stated hours are tutor-guided, how written work is assessed and how quickly feedback comes back. Ask whether any observed teaching with real learners is included and what it costs. Finally ask for the full refund policy in writing, including when the 14-day cancellation period starts. A provider that answers precisely, and does not redirect you to a sales call, has told you something useful before you have spent anything.
How to decide in practice
- If you plan to teach abroad in a market that accepts a generic 120-hour certificate, a regulated online course with a named tutor is usually enough. See how to choose a provider.
- If you want to teach in Irish language schools or on competitive abroad contracts, look closely at courses with observed practice. See can I teach English in Ireland with a TEFL certificate.
- If money is tight, compare the total cost including add-ons and payment-plan terms on the cost page, and read the scam red flags before paying anyone.
If you do want to look at the TEFL Institute of Ireland's courses, use the criteria above on them as you would on any other provider. The price and promotion on the day matter less than whether the course matches what your target employer asks for.
Want to see the TEFL Institute of Ireland's current courses and prices? Check them against the criteria on this page.
Compare TEFL coursesThis is an affiliate link. See our affiliate disclosure.Frequently asked questions
Is this site independent of the providers it discusses?
No. It is an affiliate of the TEFL Institute of Ireland and may earn a commission on purchases made through its links. The comparison criteria are applied to all providers.
Why do the prices on provider pages look so low?
The pages we read showed promotional prices of roughly 57 to 73 per cent below a listed original price. Treat the promotional price as the normal price, and check the terms before paying.
Does a higher level number mean a better course?
Not by itself. A Level 5 label tells you where the qualification sits on a UK framework, not whether it has assessed teaching practice or good tutor feedback.
Can I switch provider after starting?
That depends on the provider's refund terms. Read them before paying and keep a copy of the course page as it was when you bought.